Let it Rain by Marcela Mariz Book Review

Book Description

The funniest and most charming novel about finding yourself you’ll read this year.

Mandy Olsen lives and breathes the Eighties: an era of great music, questionable fashion choices, and endless possibilities. It was also the only time Mandy was truly happy in her life.

Now working at the school she used to attend, Mandy’s fixation with the past is starting to attract attention. Jessy, the office mean girl, whispers that “Mental Mandy” is going off the deep end. Principal Weber prefers to call her confused. And to make matters worse, the mysterious hot new teacher has developed a knack for popping up at the most embarrassing moments possible.

If Mandy wants to keep her job, she knows she needs to face the grief that turned her world upside down. But can you grasp at a second chance if your best years are behind you?

Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary and Sophie Kinsella, Let it Rain is a bittersweet coming-of-age story about friendship, rebellion, and finding the courage to love and laugh again.

Review

Thoughts and Themes: I was so happy when I started reading this book since there were so many parts of this story that I found relatable. There were so many moments in which I saw myself in our main character.

I really like the way this book deals with grief and how it shows grief affecting our main character, Mandy in a unique way. I liked that we get to see Mandy dealing with social anxiety and how we get to see her visit a therapist and how that helps her through different moments of her life.

I like the way certain things unravel in this book as these were things that I wasn’t expecting. I liked how our main character, has to figure out how to navigate the news that she has now after trying to move past this loss. I liked seeing her try to fit this person back into her new life and the way that those around her embrace her.

Characters: In this book you are introduced to several characters through their interactions with our main character, Mandy . You get to meet her mother and best friend, who are only visible to her, several work colleagues, and her therapist.

I really like the friendship that develops between our main character, Mandy, Zack, and Kim. I like the things that each of them add into her life and how they each help her deal with difficult emotions and trauma. I also really enjoyed the way that the romance develops between Manday and Zack including the twist and turns that they go through.

I also really liked seeing the relationship that Mandy has with her mother and with her best friend, Joshua. I like how we get to see the way she pictures them in her life and the impact she believes they have as ghosts. I like getting a chance to see how she feels about the relationship that she had with both her mother and Joshua prior to their deaths.

Writing Style: This book is told in first person through the perspective of our main character, Mandy. I liked that this whole story is told through Mandy’s perspective as we are getting a chance to see how things are like for her. I like that we aren’t seeing how anyone else is feeling throughout this book or how things are playing out for others until Mady finds things out.

Author Information

Born in Rio de Janeiro, Marcela Mariz discovered her passion for storytelling on the stage. She produced her first play at sixteen and went on to complete more than twenty theater-commissioned plays.

Advertisement

1 thought on “Let it Rain by Marcela Mariz Book Review

  1. Pingback: August 2022 Wrap Up | Unconventional_Quirky_Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s